Skills: Company Repertoire, Recent creation

Mercurial George

 

“I only just got a bit of dirt under the nails with the last thing. Now wading through the hairy rubble of a preliminary anthropological dig. So much debris! I couldn’t have predicted how much debris there would be and how much work I had created for myself in waking this beast. But they needed waking. I have seen the eyes and I’m circling, skipping, daintily lifting limbs and sniffing its scent. What is the smell of a plethora of someones that you have been avoiding your whole life? What do you do with the body? This is another science experiment. This is another ground on which to test skins that belong to me, outfits and ideas that may or may not have been imposed.”

Dana Michel 

In the wake of the acclaimed Yellow Towel, Mercurial George traces and transforms the banal, provoking a certain malaise. Sifting through the heaps of dusty clues leftover in the wake of initializing a cultural excavation, Dana Michel offers a destabilizing solo. The body vacillates as it struggles for balance and a toehold. Stretching out time with minimalist and deconstructed movement, Michel becomes the archeologist of her own persona.

“Michel’s poetic relationship to things is insistent. She investigates shapes and materials, reinventing sculptural forms in plastics, elastics, and doughs. Her work carves pathways through the felt, stuttering persuasively in moving registers of performance. Witty as well as socially astute, her performances loosen feeling. She withholds her body’s outlines (deferring visual recognition) while claiming opacity’s metamorphic scope. Mercurial George vibrates; it vibrates with me still.”

(VK Preston, Performance Studies Scholar, Brown University/University of Toronto)

Conceived and Performed by Dana Michel

Light Karine Gauthier

Artistic Activators Martin Bélanger, Peter James, Mathieu Léger, Roscoe Michel, Yoan Sorin

Sound Consultant David Drury

Production Dana Michel

Executive producer Par B.L.eux

Distribution Key Performance – Julia Asperska, Koen Vanhove

Coproduction CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson (Paris), Chapter (Cardiff), Festival TransAmériques, ImpulsTanz (Vienne), Tanz im August (Berlin)

Creative residencies Usine C (Montréal), Dancemakers (Toronto), ImPulsTanz (Vienne), Actoral/La Friche Belle de Mai (Marseille), WOOP (Douamenez), CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson (Paris), M.A.I. (Montréal)    

The creation of this work was made possible thanks to the financial support of
Conseil des Arts du Canada, Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec

 

 

Duration 60 minutes

Premiere 02 juin 2016 – Festival TransAmériques (Montréal, Canada)

Skills: Le répertoire, Oeuvres Récentes

Mercurial George

« Je viens tout juste de me souiller le bout des doigts avec ce que je viens de toucher. En barbotant au milieu des décombres poilus d’un site de fouille anthropologique. Tellement de débris! Je n’aurais pas pu prévoir combien de débris il y aurait et combien de travail j’aurais en réveillant cette bête. Mais elle avait besoin de se réveiller. J’ai vu les yeux et je tourne, gambade, lève ses pattes et renifle son odeur. Quelle est l’odeur d’une surabondance de personnes que tu évites depuis toujours? Que fais-tu avec le corps? C’est une autre expérience scientifique. Ceci est un autre terrain sur lequel tester les peaux qui m’appartiennent, tenues et idées qui auraient pu être imposées ou pas. »

Dana Michel

Dans la foulée du très remarqué de Yellow Towel, traque et transforme le banal, provoque le malaise. Avançant à travers les tas de débris qui restent après des fouilles dans la marginalité et les héritages culturels, Dana Michel présente un solo déstabilisant. Le corps vacille, cherche ses appuis. Étirant le temps dans une gestuelle minimaliste et déconstruite, elle devient archéologue d’elle-même. Bizarre, mais aussi franchement drôle, son univers baigne d’une naïveté de l’enfance et d’un mystère sacré. Intuitive, libre et dissidente, Dana Michel casse les moules et déplace les regards.

« La relation poétique de Dana Michel aux choses est insistante. Elle explore les formes et les matériaux, réinvente les formes sculpturales à travers le plastique, l’élastique et le modelable. Son travail découpe des chemins à travers le senti tel un bégaiement convaincant qui articulerait de multiples registres de performance. Ses spectacles sont pleins d’esprit tout en étant socialement astucieux, et permettent une détente des sentiments. Elle retient la silhouette de son corps (évitant la reconnaissance visuelle immédiate) tout en revendiquant l’envergure métamorphique de l’opacité. Mercurial George vibre; et le spectacle vibre encore en moi. »

VK Preston, Performance Studies Scholar, Brown University/University of Toronto

Conception et interprétation Dana Michel

Lumières Karine Gauthier

Conseillers artistiques Martin Bélanger, Peter James, Mathieu Léger, Roscoe Michel, Yoan Sorin

Conseiller son David Drury

Production Dana Michel

Producteur délégué Daniel Léveillé Danse

Coproduction Festival TransAmériques (Montréal), Tanz im August (Berlin), CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson (Paris), ImPulsTanz (Vienne), Chapter (Cardiff)

Résidences de création Usine C (Montréal), Dancemakers (Toronto), ImPulsTanz (Vienne), Actoral/La Friche Belle de Mai (Marseille), WOOP (Douamenez), CDC Atelier de Paris-Carolyn Carlson (Paris), M.A.I. (Montréal)

​Avec le soutien du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec et du Conseil des arts du Canada

Année de création 2016